Review: Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Cleansing Foam

IMG_5683

Intro

Today I must introduce this wonderful cleanser to you. This comes in two sizes: 150ml and 300ml. It is made of Jeju volcanic clusters that attach to the sebum on your skin and helps clean and purify the pores. This makes it very suitable for makeup removal! There has been a brief review done on this cleanser before, in my Tosowoong 3D brush review, where there are very gross/dramatic before+after photos (shown below).

July 2016 EDIT: It has been 2 years and I have repurchased this product so many times. I can’t find a better makeup removal cleanser for double cleansing and this is simply the best IMO. I don’t use this as a morning cleanser as it dries out my face, and I don’t use this on makeup-free days as well. I also use witch hazel to remove traces of makeup after using micellar water. 

How to use this cleanser

Basically, you can either use this to remove the foundation/makeup entirely OFF your face OR you can use this as part of the double cleansing method. The double cleansing method involves using an oil cleanser/cleansing water and a foaming cleanser. Anyway, this does sting your eyes if the foam gets in, instead use a separate eye/lip makeup remover.

Personally, I recommend the double cleansing method, it literally takes 20 seconds to pump some cleansing water on a cotton pad to remove the initial traces of makeup on your face. Then, wet a pore brush with water (I use Tosowoong’s) and put a pea sized amount of cleanser on the brush head, and start rubbing onto your face. As it starts to foam on your face, that’s where the magic happens. Rewet the brush and keep cleaning! 30 seconds later, you have a completely clean face :))

Here’s more about the product below…

INNISFREE JEJU VOLCANIC PORE CLEANSING FOAM-2

This is great value for money as it will last you a long time. This has been used up to twice daily for 4 months, and as you can see, slightly more than half of the 150ml size cleanser has been used.

Price

For the 150ml cleanser, I paid USD$10 (AUD$11.75/SGD$13) from a Korean eBay seller. For the 300ml cleanser, I paid USD$16 (AUD$18.05/SGD$20) and got a 5 piece mask set free from the Innisfree store in Singapore. As Innisfree Singapore was celebrating their one year store launch anniversary in Singapore in November 2014, they were giving away 5 free masks for purchases above USD$16/SGD$20! What great value, considering one of those masks retail for SGD $2 (USD$1.60) each? Will do a review of the masks later on!

IMG_5686

Thoughts:

PROS:

  • One of the most effective cleanser in makeup removal that I have ever used. It removes long-lasting foundation and waterproof sunscreen very well.
  • It can gently unclog non-stubborn whiteheads/blackheads. See my before and after photos below, where I cleansed my entire face with the pore brush and results were immediate in 20 secs or so.
  • Great value as 150ml can last you 4 to 8 months depending on frequency and amount of usage.
  • It foams up very well, works great with a pore brush and feels very smooth on skin.
  • It doesn’t break out my sensitive skin.
  • Made of natural ingredients and one of the gentlest makeup removal products
  • Makeupalley reviews 4.0/5

IMG_1398IMG_1405

CONS:

Personally I feel this too drying to use in the morning or to use more than once a day. After using it twice daily for three months, I decided to use another cleanser in the morning (Innisfree Calming Dandelion Gel Cleanser) which is mild, gentle and refreshing when you just wake up. Personally, this volcanic cleanser is strictly reserved for removing makeup or clogged up pores.

OVERALL: 

9.5/10. This is one of the best cleansers for makeup removal.  I have repurchased the 300ml as a backup. I highly recommend this. A pore brush will also help in effective removal of makeup (I haven’t tried the cleanser WITHOUT a pore brush so I’m unsure of the effectiveness of the cleanser by itself). Using this has improved my complexion as my pores are much cleaner. It is reasonably priced, highly effective, made of natural ingredients and is easily available online. A definite must-buy for frequent makeup users :))

FC793F07E84497BA7BF3F93037E06C4A.jpg

9 thoughts on “Review: Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Cleansing Foam

    1. Haha definitely try it for makeup removal! Those pictures are literally within 20 or 30 odd seconds apart. It’ll give you a squeaky clean feeling which is great if you wear foundation and sunscreen. Just don’t use it in the morning as it might be a little drying 🙂

      Like

  1. I am using jeju super volcanic clay mask, it helps with pore tightening and blackhead removal. I’m considering whether I should use its pore line. Any suggestion?

    Like

    1. For sure, this is a fantastic deep cleaning cleanser. Use this daily after you remove your makeup at the end of the day to thoroughly cleanse your face.

      I wouldn’t recommend this as a morning wash, as this strips the oil off your face. Rather use a gentler gel cleanser like Innisfree Calming Gel Cleanser.

      Like

  2. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up
    very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised
    me. Thanks, quite great post.

    Like

Leave a comment